BYO Image Search – Not that great a service yet :-(

ND – Dark, Blue

Following this article on PetaPixel
…I thought I’d give it a whirl as I really liked the idea of this service as a useful tool.

With BYO Image Search you simply upload an image that you have, or pass it a URL to an image and the website “finds” a batch of other images that look similar from a stock of almost 3 million images on Alamy.

Unfortunately the promise was too much, and as the subsequent forum suggests, the picture matching appears to be largely based on the basic colouring of your image and nothing more clever than that. I uploaded a simple black and white shot of Birmingham’s Alpha Tower and I ended up with images of footballers, a cat and a German WWII V1 rocket.

BYO Image Search Fail

If you can recommend any other similar services, or spot that BYO gets an upgrade then please let me know.

Have fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2011

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Birmingham, Birmingham UK, Experimentation, Nakedigit, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

