Amazing Orange Sky

ND – Sunny, not Blue

Q: ND’s header picture; is it real?

A: Well, my wife and I were on honeymoon in New Zealand a couple of years ago. We spent several weeks touring both the north and south islands and had a wonderful time. We had spent New Year’s Eve in Wellington and on New Year’s Day we took the Interislander ferry to Picton on the south island, had a wonderful meal of mussels in wine in the evening light by the harbour and then travelled down to Kaikoura where we stayed at a beach campsite ready to go whale watching the following day.

A few hours later I awoke somewhere a little after 5am and found that the normally dark and blue-curtained motor home we slept in was awash with orange and I grabbed the camera and jumped outside to discover the dawn of the most amazing sky I had ever seen. Over a period of half an hour or so the deep orange promise grew brighter and brighter whilst holding it’s richness and lustre. I held a DSLR with a wide-angle lens on it and tried to capture every subtle change, every nuance that developed before me.

Seagulls flew in and out, and the sky just grew and grew as I sat on a mound of sand on the Kaikoura beach. This was a busy campsite, yet only one other person was up and snapping, and the tens, probably hundreds of people around me slept through this all.

Eventually the sky brightened to lose its richness and the fabulous fire I photographed faded to a light morning blue.

But in those few minutes of sunrise I felt at peace, enthralled by what this world could produce on a good day.

The image you see here is very close to that which i saw on the day. With DSLR’s I shoot RAW files, so I had to convert it to JPG for this blog. It’s cropped and has been straightened as my idea of lining up with the horizon was obviously clouded, pun intended, by how tired I was from having woken up that early. The image was also corrected to get a straight horizon back from the barrel distortion of the lens I was using. There is a very minor amount of post-adjustment in terms of exposure control, saturation and contrast. Overall, apart from the straightening and cropping this image is very close to the original RAW file that was shot.

Just Wake Up

Have fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Birmingham, Birmingham UK, Colours, Nakedigit, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

