I’m a Muppet

ND – Dark, Warm, Blue

Can you spot the “deliberate” mistake?. Can you? Can you see what I did completely wrong because my brain was on holiday?

Berries and Concrete

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 50mm F1.4G AF-S, Exposure 1/400 @ F7.1, ISO 200, The article says it all, bright blue day, but the depth of field available on my lens just did not work with the relative positions of the camera, berries and concrete. The sharp angles of the concrete, mixed with its size in the image, meant I needed to do something to strengthen the berries further so that they held equal billing. Pushing the red saturation up whilst dropping the rest of the colour almost out of it did the trick, but I didn't take that the whole way as I preferred a little more warmth than pure black and white monochrome would have given

Aaaaaaaarrrrrrgggggghhh it makes my blood boil!

This is a photograph of round red natural berries against an angular grey artificial concrete car park alongside the Birmingham and Fazeley canal near St Chad’s circus.

It seemed like a good idea at the time: “round red natural” vs “angular grey artificial”.

Nope, BIG CORRECTION, that’s what it was supposed to be. That’s what it was in my head as I stood there (practically laid on the ground actually), and that’s what I thought it looked like on the screen on my camera.

Unfortunately, that’s NOT what it actually is. What it actually is, is round red natural berries against a nasty out of focus mess that was supposed to be a sharp angular blah blah.

This is NOT how to take a photograph.

😦

Now I have to go back and do it again.

Apart from totally getting the depth of field (DoF) wrong, I quite liked the composition, which is why it’s annoying me every time I look at it.

The problem was that the berries were close and the concrete was not. I had a 50mm lens on my camera and I just didn’t quite get it all together. I subsequently calculated that the total DoF here was about 12cms which just about gets the berries nicely focussed but the concrete hasn’t got a hope. Even if I’d gone up to F22 on the lens, the DoF would have been about 34cms. I did my best by lying down on the ground to pull away from the berries, but I reckon I was only about a meter away.

I thought about pulling out my 24mm lens. Massively better DoF, and at approx 1.25m from the berries I’d have had about 39metres of DoF to play with, but it was too wide for this shot and the concrete would have been significantly out-dominated by the relatively huge berries in the foreground. Fail!

The only thing left for me would have been to get someone to hold the branch higher so that I could have stepped back further and had both subjects in shot. Only trouble is, even if I could have gone back to 3metres from the berries, not only would the DoF still only be 4.26m (not enough), but I’d have been swimming as I’d have fallen in the canal at about 2metres.

Good job my camera claims some water resistance. Has anyone got a boat?

Have fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Birmingham, Birmingham UK, Buildings, Colours, Nakedigit, Photography, red and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

