Simple Structure

ND – Coldish, Sunny, Blue

If you’ve been coming here for a while…
…you may have spotted that I make a lot of images of buildings and structures.

I like them.

They’re not looking back to make me nervous as I fumble with my camera’s controls. They don’t do something different from what I have pictured in my head, and then they don’t follow-up with doing something unguided between shots when they think they need to interact with me instead of carrying on what they were doing for the next shot.

Oh, and they don’t argue. Structures don’t have minds of their own.

In general, structures can be fairly cooperative, and especially so at short notice. This shot is the arty part of a bridge over a waterway in New Zealand’s windy capital city of Wellington.

Wellington Bridge NZ

Nikon D200 'DX', Nikkor 18-200mm F3.5-5.6G AF-S VR DX @ 18mm, Exposure 1/500 @ F13, ISO 200, Broad daylight, very bright sunshine and brilliant blue sky, post-processed quite differently with this brown look as I felt it has more style than grey concrete against rich blue, and a single colour tone helps concentrate on the shapes (straight lines, with soft round circle around sun)

It was a sunny blue day and as I approached the bridge I was taken by its simple artistic form, with clean shapes for you to walk under.

I pulled off a couple of shots with my Nikon D200, and revisited them some time later on my iMac.

Any image should always play to its strengths…
…If the thing you notice about it initially is its vibrant colours, or the vibrancy of the single most important item in the picture, then colour is the way to go.

If the colours are not the strongest aspect, but there’s a really fantastic tone and contrast then converting to black and white and, if suitable, pushing the contrast a little higher can give you some real drama.

Here, I had a simple light grey form with sharp lines silhouetted against the solid blue backdrop above, with only the coma of the sun peaking around part of it. This image is a balance of simple connected shapes, bordered by rigid straight lines, dark from the silhouetting bright sky and lack of fill-flash, mixed with the bright round thing that’s been carefully concealed, but given away by its aura.

A monochrome approach seemed best, and I tended in a sepia rather than black and white direction as I felt that the extra warmth given reflected the beautiful hot day that I experienced.

I really like this shot. It wouldn’t have worked if cluttered by even the faintest wisp of cloud, and it reminds me every time I look at it that looking up is something many people don’t do in their daily lives, yet they should as they’re missing so much.

Have fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Colours, Nakedigit, Photography, sky and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Structure

  1. iheartfilm says:

    Nice effect. I love shooting towards the sun when it’s really bright – you get that great underexposed look.

    • nakedigit says:

      Thanks 🙂 It’s funny how an image comes together. I saw the bridge from afar, liked the structure, but whatever angle i could have shot it from would have had a distracting city scene in the background, spoiling its simplicity. It wasn’t until i stood on it and randomly looked up that i saw a way foward. The halo of the sun works well in juxta position to the lines, but that came out of necessity with me moving to block the direct sunlight out so that i could actually view it.
      The final piece was the post process to this colour scheme that removes the distraction of the bright contrasting colours and just leaves the shapes and tones.
      Cheers, ND

Leave a Reply

