Lomography – Diana F+

ND – Dark, Blue

I recently posted about receiving two plastic cameras unexpectedly within hours of each other. Here begins the story of #2…

My photographic career to date…
…has been engulfed and shaped by the digital age. There are the purists who will find me and what I do brash and crass, but you find them in any walk of life, business or pleasure, where change is afoot and there’s a wide range of age and experience brought together.

In another life I fly gliders and whereas the hot ships of today are lithe smooth carbon fibre and Kevlar racing machines, there are those in the more senior ranks that hark back to the so-called “golden age” of wood and fabric glued together.

They have a (quaint?) point, but they’re not the future.

I wonder if some people even objected to the switch from silent movies to “talkies”, or the introduction of colour film. The Wizard of Oz may have been the future of movie making to many, but I suspect there was an attitude in some parts that it just wasn’t the same and should be bemoaned and overlooked.

I’ve raced the modern hot ships, with the various electronics beeping and burping at me in castigation of my general mishandling of the controls, but have also ambled about on a beautiful sunny blue day in a 1950’s “floater”, with not a battery operated device within three thousand feet of me, enjoying the calm, peace and disconnection from daily reality it brings.

So I can appreciate multiple sides of the debate.

With film (still camera or movie), there are certainly those today who exclusively prefer black and white, but the majority are not old enough to remember a time without colour, so their choices are often down to aesthetics rather than fond memory or luddidity.

I’m even finding a recent fondness in taking the output of a perfectly good, not to mention expensive, colour digital sensor and post-processing it into monochrome; usually black and white, occasionally sepia, very occasionally something else for purely aesthetic or impact reasons.

With all of this swilling around in my head…
…my wife has now set me a new challenge; to divorce myself from instant feedback, to cease to fail cheaply, to record the world with limited resources, produce images that are not clean, and in fact with limited control over the end quality, and probably even the camera itself.

Yes, Mrs ND has bought me a fabulous Lomography Diana F+ plastic camera with a batch of colour and monochrome 120 medium format film.

I couldn’t be happier 🙂

My lovely new Lomography Diana F+

Genuinely, I’m really excited…
…about the challenge ahead, and terrified to get my first roll developed and the impending look of pity on me from the customer facing kid at my local developers as he hands back my futile attempt at image making in the full knowledge that the only thing I’ve achieved is to unnecessarily deplete the world of a few more grams of resources.

I’ve already read the manual, well, the five short pages that were in my language, and I’ve also moved every switch, knob or twisty thing to every setting imaginable (this didn’t take long) just to gain mastery of the ergonomics.

My Lovely Diana’s Little House

I’ve removed the back, set the aperture to each of its four positions, including pinhole, and stared through it as the shutter activated just to marvel at the wonderous plastic blink in a way that I’ve never been able to on my regular kit without causing expensive and irreparable damage.

My Lovely Diana’s Packs of Analogue Sensors

I haven’t loaded a single roll of film into her yet, but my Diana is my new love. I just hope my wife can make room in our relationship for her 😉

I’m off now to find a red light bulb and something to plug it into.

Wish me luck.
ND

PS. All images shot with an Apple iPhone 3Gs and processed with the iOS4 Photoshop Express App.

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in green, iPhone, Nakedigit, Photography, Plastic camera and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lomography – Diana F+

  1. Pingback: Focus on Imaging, NEC, March 2011 | Nakedigit

Leave a Reply

