New Zealand Tour – Mountains and Lakes

ND – Grey, Very Blue

New Zealand Mountains 1

Nikon D200 'DX', Tamron 17-35mm F2.8-4 AF SP Di LD IF @ 17mm, Exposure 1/160 @ F16, ISO 200, A rugged, hard-edged and beautiful landscape. I shot F16 to increase the depth of field heavily, the bright sunny day (as every day in New Zealand seemed to be) allowed me that luxury with a usable clean ISO and a hand-steadying 1/160 shutter speed

A couple of years ago…
…I had the good fortune to tour New Zealand for a month. Words here are unlikely to do it justice, so you may as well just stop reading now 😉

Bluntly, if you like empty desolate beautiful landscapes, there are worse places to go. Empty is also a pretty apt description. I thought the North Island was deserted until I crossed over to the south and visible signs of life all but vanished.

One of the most striking areas is around the Southern Alps on the South Island, with Mount Cook as their centrepiece. On your way to Cook’s peak and The Hermitage mountain climbing centre you must travel past Lake Pukaki with its ice blue glacial melt-water.

I’d love to be sitting there now.

Aerial view of Lake Pukaki in New Zealand’s southern alps.

New Zealand Mountains 2

Nikon D200 'DX', Tamron 17-35mm F2.8-4 AF SP Di LD IF @ 17mm, Exposure 1/90 @ F22, ISO 200, I pushed the depth of field wider with F22 on this one. A combination of the shot image and post-processing has left it darker but with less haze than the previous shot. Both shots are of the same scene with the camera position adjusted slightly, and although I prefer the landscape in this shot, I prefer the clouds in the previous one

Have fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Glaciers, lake, Mount Cook, Nakedigit, New Zealand, North Island, Photography, South Island, Southern Alps, water and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Zealand Tour – Mountains and Lakes

  1. Pingback: New Zealand Tour – Sea and Sunset | Nakedigit

Leave a Reply

