New Zealand Tour – Sea and Sunset

ND – Blue, Very very sunny, Very Blue still

New Zealand, Kaikoura Beach at Sunset, BW

Nikon D200

Following on from my last post
…on New Years Day 2009 Mrs ND and I took the Interislander ferry across from Wellington on New Zealand’s North Island to Picton on the South Island. We had a great meal of mussels by the harbour at Picton, which was really a very beautiful place, then travelled down the most desolate and empty coastal road I have ever seen to Kaikoura, a small town by the sea that is known for its Whale Watching boat trips.

The coastal road from Picton to Kaikoura.

Take the Interislander Ferry from Wellington, through Queen Charlotte Sound to Picton, then drive south on Route 1 to Kaikoura (bottom left corner of map).

We eventually found…
…our camp site, which was hugely crowded and as the sun headed for the horizon I pulled out my Nikon D200 and grabbed some shots. This picture depicts a calm and still place, yet it was actually quite manic. Behind the camera the campsite was full, many hundreds of noisy people were around, and I was lucky to get this shot with just three of them huddled in a group in the middle.

Unfortunately one of them started shouting at me and saying I would have to pay him for taking his photograph! Mate, if you are reading this and you can clearly recognise yourself amongst these three figures then good luck asking for money 😉

The D200 is obviously a colour camera, and this shot is clearly post-processed. The original had a lovely deep blue colour high up that paled to a light cyan at the horizon, and then transformed abruptly to a rusty-brown on the water. Switching to black and white removes the distractive colours and brings your attention to the tones, light and shade. As someone pointed out on my Flickr page there’s a lovely gentle curve in the sky on the left side which bends around smoothly back into the horizon, and if your eye follows that straight line to the right side it then bends down and to the left again, much more sharply, and back across to the left side of the image where the sea meets the sand.

This image really looks good when large, and I have only posted a small JPG here (sorry). Please click-through it to see a larger version. However, I have a much larger file that is ready for printing at A2 size and it really does look striking. I hope you like it too.

BTW, this is how the sun set that evening. The following morning the sun arrived in anger, engulfing the sky with the most incredible fire orange i have ever seen. I took a series of shots of that sky, and one of them is the banner image for this blog.

Just Wake Up

Have Kiwi fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Nakedigit, New Zealand, People, Photography, sky, South Island, sunset and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

