Wisps & Ghosts

ND – Cold, Early, Promising, Blue

I recently touched on…
…capturing fleeting moments between people in a post covering the recent EDF Energy Birmingham Half Marathon that was held on Sunday 24th October.

In that piece I talked about “wanting to capture the spectators as the main attraction and have the runners as merely incidental to this. I liked the fact that both played a fleeting moment in each others lives and so I changed tack and slowed the shutter right down. At various places on the course I took images like this one where the focus are the people waiting for the next runners, yet runners are passing them almost forgotten, ghost-like even. By using a slow shutter, and hoping the spectators didn’t move too much, I tried to capture the runners as temporal wisps, blurred as they will be in the memories of those watching“.

I showed these two photos…
…where a photographer is looking for the action up ahead, yet the action he’s looking for is passing right by, and his “up ahead” is merely their “behind” and “past”.

Wisps & Fragments 2

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 125mm, Exposure 1/8 @ F8, ISO 100, He's looking for action, it's going past him.

In particular, you can just make out the face of a woman in the blur (below), looking past the photographer, just as oblivious yet focussed as he is, but in the opposite direction.

Wisps & Fragments 3

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 125mm, Exposure 1/8 @ F8, ISO 100, Ditto. I like that you can see the ghostly face of a woman, and both she and the photographer are close, yet a million miles away from each other.

I later captured…
…a further series of such images on Broad Street, a couple of hundred yards short of the Finish line, where the crowds were packed in on either side of the barrier demarked track.

Wisps & Fragments 4

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 98mm, Exposure 1/13 @ F32, ISO 100, It's a bright day and I'm trying to get everything into shot, yet deliberately holding the shutter slow to achieve the effect that I'm after. I dropped the Nikon D700 down below it's recommended ISO 200 minimum down to what Nikon refers to as 'Lo 1.0', yet I was still forced to hit F32, ironically increasing the depth of field which I would normally do to get things in focus, yet a perfectly sharp picture was not my intent!

The image above was not quite my full intent either as the crowd needs to be acting as one, oblivious to the runners passing them, looking for something further off because they are unaware of the action right here. However, in this image there are 2 children peeking over the barrier, along with a chap on the left at the back who are looking towards me, probably having spotted me pointing the camera in their direction. Maybe the chap was just turning his head with the action and his gaze towards me was coincidence, I don’t know. However, I really liked the expression on the boys’ face, that awesome “Wow” as if he’s seeing ghosts that the adults can’t.

Wisps & Fragments 5

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 170mm, Exposure 1/20 @ F25, ISO 100, That's better. The crowd act as one, and the woman in the middle exemplifies her search for something by peering into the distance below her shading hand.

Wisps & Fragments 6

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 155mm, Exposure 1/20 @ F29, ISO 100, Does she see something yet? She'll be the only one.

Wisps & Fragments 7

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 155mm, Exposure 1/20 @ F25, ISO 100

Wisps & Fragments 8

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 155mm, Exposure 1/20 @ F25, ISO 100

Wisps & Fragments 9

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 155mm, Exposure 1/20 @ F25, ISO 100, He's looking, they're right there, he doesn't seem them!

Wisps & Fragments 10

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 155mm, Exposure 1/20 @ F25, ISO 100

Wisps & Fragments 11

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 170mm, Exposure 1/20 @ F25, ISO 100

Have fleeting fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Birmingham, Birmingham UK, Event, Experimentation, Faces, Marathon, Nakedigit, Nikon, People, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

