Prague Busker

ND – Cold, chilly, grey, Blue

A couple of years ago…
…I visited Prague with Mrs ND. This was a city I had wanted to see for a long time for family reasons and it didn’t disappoint. It was beautiful.

It was a cold October, but gloriously sunny and it was difficult to keep my attention on one subject as there were too many things to try to photograph.

I need to go back!

I’m going to produce more work from this visit in a later post, but first up, here’s a shot I took on my walk up to the castle. Ironically, given the abundant wealth of gorgeous architecture on offer, and the crowds of tourists swarming around it, this first image shows nothing of that and could have been taken in many places around the world. It’s almost anonymous actually.

On our walk up to the castle, below the castle walls, there was this man playing his violin for whatever coinage he could get from the tourists. There was something melancholic about the moment as I glanced back over my shoulder and without thinking, or stopping, I snatched a shot of him with the Nikon in my hand and carried on going.

At that time I had not tried to do street photography of others, and even though he put himself out on display, I felt an awkwardness about snapping his image.

There’s a loneliness here that I think works well, a timeliness almost too.

What do you think?

Prague Busker

Nikon D200 'DX', Nikkor 18-200mm F3.5-5.6G AF-S VR DX @ 105mm, Exposure 1/320 @ F20, ISO 320

Have fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Graffiti, Nakedigit, Nikon, Paint, peeling paint, People, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

