Wind and Wuthering

ND – Winter’s Coming, Blue

A brilliantly sunny and blue…
…but chilly mid-November day gave way to another, and the clear intervening nighttime sky forewarned that the arriving second day would be really cold.

It was!

The view south from Birmingham’s city centre had tree covered hills rolling in fog with only a mosque and various chimneys, some belching smoke to thicken the gloom, breaking through the poor visibility.

However, it looked like it may have photographic promise so I grabbed my Nikon D700 and pushed the lens out to 300mm to try to capture something.

When it came to…
…post-processing, I was torn as to which way to go. Simply pushing up either the contrast or saturation seemed to give it a strong yellow look that appealed.

Misty Morning – Yellow

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 300mm, Exposure 1/200 @ F13, ISO 400

I wasn’t fully happy with this approach though as I wanted to see what else I could get from being more subtle, which I felt was more fitting. Coincidentally I was listening to an album that I hadn’t heard for a while, and inspiration was mine.

Misty Morning – Dreamy

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 300mm, Exposure 1/200 @ F13, ISO 400

I don’t dislike the yellow treatment at all, but there’s something simple and dreamy about my second and more closely cropped attempt. Do you like it?

…and for those of you tone-deaf Luddites out there…
…the title of this post is a reference to the beautiful 1976 Genesis album of the same name, and in particular the ethereal album cover (we used to have those you know).

“Wind and Wuthering” 1976, Image (c) Genesis.

Have fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Birmingham, Birmingham UK, Colours, Experimentation, Nakedigit, Photography, sky, sunrise, yellow and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wind and Wuthering

  1. chriscaff says:

    I like. Only down the road from you {Loughborough) and know exactly how foggy it’s been lately. This is one way of conveying that, and a spooky image of a huge city.

Leave a Reply

