iPhone 3GS vs Architecture

ND – Too early, just why am I even up? Blue

I recently posed the question…
Do I need more gear? My answer to that began with “Fundamentally no, but…”.

I currently have five different cameras, some of which I haven’t yet admitted to or written about on this blog. Watch this space…

…But I still found myself asking that question. Photography is not about what you carry, it’s about what you do with it. Pure and simple. That goes for many things in life BTW 😉 I’m currently having fun with my Lomography Diana plastic 120 medium format camera and I’ll be updating on that soon, along with news of another medium format toy that I was luckily given recently. My primary weapon of choice is Nikon’s brilliant D700, but it’s also completely useless to me at times when I see something that I want to capture, but am not carrying it.

However, there IS one imaging device…
…that I carry with me all the time. The same kind of imaging device that billions of other people around the world carry; a cellphone.

I finally succumbed to the lure of Apple’s magic device in 2009, and will probably swap it for number 5 when it is released later this year. The camera on it is pretty basic really, there are better cellphones for photography out there, and its simple little eye has very limited controls. I can press a button to shoot, a basic requisite on most cameras (!!!), and have the capacity to “move it around and point it at what I want”, which pretty much sums up its entire range of manipulation.

I can also carry it in my pocket, and it is always with me when I leave home. And that is a key component if you suddenly happen upon something that needs a camera pointing at it.

Birmingham Library, Chamberlain Square

Apple iPhone 3GS, 3.8mm, Exposure 1/898 @ F2.8, ISO 70, Strange numbers from what I normally get from my Nikon. 3.8mm focal length is not a Nikkor lens I would be able to get hold of. But it works.

This shot of Birmingham’s 1960’s concrete creation…
…was taken whilst I was briefly at a loose end whilst Mrs ND was busy pointing our Nikon D80 at something for a project. Hands in pockets, often an indication that time is uselessly ticking by, I happened to look up and rather liked the hard and unforgiving lines of this brutalist structure.

With very little to play with on the iPhone, I simply moved myself into the best position, pointed and pressed the virtual shutter button with the little red eye on the screen. The majority of my effort to create this image occurred afterwards in the playground that is Apple’s Aperture 2.

Birmingham is currently having a new library built. This old 1960’s one is not long for this world now. Out of all the horrendous concrete impediments that fortified Birmingham during the 1960’s and 1970’s I still have a soft spot for this one though, despite it’s awful siting amongst the “easier on the eye” neo-classical buildings that otherwise surround Chamberlain Square. I view it will be a shame to see it go, but that is a view not shared by everyone and this building certainly has polarised people over the years.

Moving about 900 miles to the east…
…I found myself in another idle moment, on another day, in another city, again waiting for Mrs ND to do something, without a “proper camera”.

Renoma, Wroclaw, Poland

Apple iPhone 3GS, 3.8mm, Exposure 1/120 @ F2.8, ISO 135, More strange numbers, but it's what I was carrying at the time.

And once again (yes, I know you’re not supposed to start a sentence with “And”), I looked up and saw something that looked something like this image that I then made of it. This image is of one corner of the car park extension of the newly renovated Renoma shopping centre in Wroclaw, Poland.

There’s nothing much to say here except for the fact that I rather liked the simple lines and curves, and couldn’t resist idly pointing my iPhone at it.

Again, twisted a little further out of recognition in Aperture 3 (this time, now that I’ve upgraded from Aperture 2), with the orientation, contrast, shadows, highlights and some colouring mildly tweaked, I like the simplicity of this image.

Maybe I should put away dreams of big Nikkor F2.8 monsters…
…and focus on my iPhone photography with a better Apple camera coming this summer.

Have cellfun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Apple, Architecture, Birmingham, Birmingham UK, Buildings, Equipment, Experimentation, iPhone, Nakedigit, Nikon, Photography, Poland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

