Sitting in a Pub Again

ND – Dark, Blue

I virtually always carry a camera…
…because I never know when an opportunity may come up. Some Sundays, Mrs ND and I walk to our favourite local pub in Edgbaston, sit in a bay window and drink Aspalls Suffolk Cider on tap. During an idle moment whilst Mrs ND was busy elsewhere (probably getting the cider) I realised that I liked the strong contrasting light and shade on the wall in front of me, the table, the picture, the hanging lamp etc. It was largely dim in here, but the general brown hue of everything was pleasing and I pulled my D700 out and took a couple of shots. Some people then came to the table and hogged my muse for a time.

A little later, during another idle moment, Mrs ND gets a lot of cider ;-), the table was clear again, some details in the scene had changed, and the sun was lower in the sky allowing it to flood a little more widely through the windows. So I casually picked up the D700 and tried again.

Whilst I rather liked the muted browns of everything in the original images, I post-processed both of them back to monochrome, giving one a minor sepia tint to warm it a little.

Table in Time 1

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 50mm F1.4G AF-S, Exposure 1/800 @ F1.4, ISO 200, Despite the shards of light that cut across the scene, it was pretty dim in here. However, that was not the main reason I used F1.4. The glass in the picture frame on the wall was highly reflective and it showed quite clearly some parked cars across the street through the window directly behind me. F1.4 was used to reduce the DoF enough that the cars were not visible. 1/800 is what the D700 metered to with no exposure offset from me.


Table in Time 2

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 50mm F1.4G AF-S, Exposure 1/500 @ F1.4, ISO 200, Similar situation to the previous shot, however the table had been used and vacated in the intervening time, glasses and chairs had moved and the sun had gone around a little further towards dusk, and it's slightly lower position in the sky illuminated the wall more widely through the small windows. Definitely no cars reflected in the picture glass here 🙂

In hindsight I should have also tried to take a shot with my iPhone, but forgot!

Have fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2011

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Birmingham, Birmingham UK, iPhone, Nakedigit, Nikon, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sitting in a Pub Again

  1. Babygirl says:

    I can’t tell you how much I LOVE black and white photos and to see these really made me smile. I love these. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

