Watching

I prefer to be behind the lens…
…and anonymous, but it’s not so easy when you’re out shooting at a public event, and just to prove it I’ve hypocritically decided that my peers were fair game and snapped them in action.

In “Watching 2” we have eager and expectant faces, excited by the Chinese New Year celebrations, pointing anything from camera phones to Canon 70-200mm F2.8 monsters at the stage. I had been in this gaggle earlier, but there was too much pushing and the view from the back wasn’t great.

Watching 2 – Chinese New Year of the Rabbit

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 300mm, Exposure 1/250 @ F6.3, ISO 640

“Watching 1” demonstrates another Canon 70-200mm lens in action at the same New Years event at Birmingham’s Arcadian. I’ve seen this chap around at various other events around the city over the last year or so.

Watching 1 – Chinese New Year of the Rabbit

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 300mm, Exposure 1/250 @ F5.6, ISO 640

Whoops, In “Watching 3” I got caught. During this march around the city centre I first spotted this gentleman near the bullring, amazed and impressed that he was “following” a fast-moving event with the slowest moving camera I had seen. Later on, he brought it up to St Philips Square off Colmore Row where the demonstration ended, and I tried to catch him in a quiet moment once he had set up and was waiting for the final speeches. I’d love to see the shots that he got.

Watching 3 – Anti-Cuts Protest Demonstration

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 300mm, Exposure 1/400 @ F5.6, ISO 640

Have fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2011

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Birmingham, Birmingham UK, Event, Faces, Nakedigit, People, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

