Strong Lines and Strong Colours

ND – Dark, Cold, Blue

I really like…
…Strong lines with strong colours. You can make a very striking image with the two as some people have shown.

I wish I could get a shot like that!

On a recent wander around Birmingham’s Jewellery Quarter and Digbeth areas I came across a number of contenders for “strong lines / strong colour”.

Fire Station Doors at Lancaster Circus
The West Midlands Fire Brigade Headquarters at Lancaster Circus is a huge triangular building with, unsurprisingly, large red doors around it. Actually, they’ve faded somewhat, so are more pink than red now, but that helps the contrast with the weird red glass!

Pink Doors

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 50mm F1.4G AF-S, Exposure 1/60 @ F8, ISO 400, Grabbed as I walked past in a hurry.

Yellow Girder against White Bricks in Digbeth
A short walk from Digbeth High Street can be found an old derelict building, steel framed, no roof, used as a car park. The vertical girders that support, well, not much anymore, are a strong yellow colour, with rust slowly creeping through, claiming it’s right.

Yellow Girder, White Bricks

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 50mm F1.4G AF-S, Exposure 1/400 @ F3.5, ISO 200, Taken indoors, but as there was no roof and it was a very bright day...

Green and Rusty Metal Gate
Part of a collection of metal roller doors and gates in various colours that I found during my walk. I like the way the Green and Rust contrast in a decaying way, yet are held by the parallel symmetry of the lines.

Metal Gate, Green & Rust

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 50mm F1.4G AF-S, Exposure 1/30 @ F8, ISO 200

Blue Metal Gate
A similar subject to the previous one, in a different colour and state of decay.

Yellow Girder, White Bricks

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 50mm F1.4G AF-S, Exposure 1/200 @ F9, ISO 400

Have regular but colourful fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Birmingham, Birmingham UK, Buildings, Colours, green, Nakedigit, Nikon, Paint, peeling paint, Photography, red, yellow and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment