Phantasmagoria

ND – Dark, Chilly, Blue

One sunny day late last year…
…I dropped Mrs ND’s parents off at a local airport and used the weather, my freedom for the rest of the day and my location to pop into Nottingham and have a proper look around.

I ended up walking through a huge but deserted (by living things, well, people) cemetery close to the city centre. Looking through the viewfinder at this scene, I imagined it in Black and White and the up-tempo goth tones from The Damned’s finest album sprang to mind.

Nottingham Graves

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 102mm, Exposure 1/200 @ F8, ISO 200, Spooky but Sunny.

Grimly Fiendish indeed!

Don’t get too spooked, BOO!
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2011

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in Nakedigit, Nikon, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Phantasmagoria

  1. That’s a lovely photograph. I don’t know why but I always enjoy photographs of graveyards. It doesn’t matter if they’re spooky, serene, or moving. They always really get to me.

    • nakedigit says:

      Thanks very much Matt.
      The full size image (this is just a heavily shrunk JPG) has quite a bit of detail in it and looks quite nice (i think) at full size.
      One of the things I like about photographing such places is that you can spend some time setting up a shot without lots of crowds or other distractions
      getting in the way!

      Shot with a Nikon D700, I really quite liked it in colour actually, but wanted to go a little more monotone, and pulled it back very slightly fromm absolute B&W with a very subtle sepia tint that’s barely noticeable.

      Cheers, ND 🙂

Leave a comment