Manchester Beetham Tower pt 2

ND – Cold, Sunny, Blue

I previously posted
…an image of Manchester’s Beetham Tower which is a truly striking building given its sharp strong lines, unbalanced stance and singularly “Remote” location with its exclusively low-rise surroundings.

In my humble opinion it’s a much better architectural accomplishment than its sister tower in Birmingham which I watched being built.

Beetham Tower Manchester, Tall Sepia

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 50mm F1.4G AF-S, Exposure 1/200 @ F16, ISO 200, Looking up with a large DoF to get everything in focus.

It’s difficult to understand…
…from simple photos how this slender and unbalanced looking structure has transformed the area with its singularly vertical stance, sharp lines and vivid colour, with nothing tall close by to compete with it.

Beetham Tower Manchester, Top Blue

Nikon D700 'FX', Nikkor 70-300mm F4.5-5.6G AF-S VR @ 185mm, Exposure 1/640 @ F8, ISO 200, Faster shutter to prevent the zoom magnifying my wobbling hand. I really like the detail of the little white staircase you can see.

I’m guessing the penthouse view is not too bad…

Have fun,
ND

Digg! Delicious Follow Nakedigit on Twitter
(c) Nakedigit 2010

About nakedigit

I have legs and a camera. I also occasionally use a passport. The camera with my brightest lenses can almost (almost) see in the dark. So the only thing stopping me from putting it all together regardless of where and when i am is, well, me really! However, when i don't completely muck it up the results may end up here on this blog and also my Flickr page. I now Twitter and a website is coming... ND August 2010
This entry was posted in blue, Buildings, Colours, Manchester, Nakedigit, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment